français Version française
Institut d'Astrophysique et
de Géophysique (Bât. B5c)

Quartier Agora
Allée du 6 août, 19C
B-4000 Liège 1 (Sart-Tilman)
Belgique

Tel.: 04.366.9774
Fax: 04.366.9729

Doctoral thesis

Every year, several new PhD students (Belgian or foreign) join our department. They conduct personal researches and deepen their knowledge on topics related to Astrophysics, Geophysics and Oceanography. During their PhD, they have the opportunity to become integrated into international research teams, to present their findings both to the general public (outreach activities) and to their peers (participation to international conferences), to go on site to collect observations or to visit other universities to improve their skills. After completing their thesis, they can either continue their work in international research centers, or join high-tech companies, where their specialized training is greatly appreciated.

Currently 39 PhD students complete their thesis in our department. According to their research topic, they belong to one of two doctoral colleges linked to the department: the Doctoral College of Oceanography or the Doctoral College of Space Science.

Thematic doctoral schools offer courses and seminars that may be part of doctoral education. The Department AGO is actively involved into two thematic doctoral schools. The PandA thematic doctoral school provides training in Physics and Astrophysics, while the UNITER thematic doctoral school focuses its training on astrophysics, on space science, on Earth science and on climatology.

In order to find opportunities corresponding to a specific topic, please contact the relevant researchers.

Practical information about doctoral thesis can be found on the website of the Faculty of Sciences. The doctorate enrolment form, the thesis committee constitution form and the "jury" (board of examiners) committee constitution form can be found here.

University of Liège > Faculty of Sciences > Department of Astrophysics, Geophysics and Oceanography : CoWebAGO, Juin 2009.

english English version
Institut d'Astrophysique et
de Géophysique (Bât. B5c)

Quartier Agora
Allée du 6 août, 19C
B-4000 Liège 1 (Sart-Tilman)
Belgique

Tel.: 04.366.9774
Fax: 04.366.9729

Doctorat

Chaque année, plusieurs nouveaux doctorants (belges ou étrangers) rejoignent notre département. Ils effectuent un travail personnel de recherche et d'approfondissement des connaissances sur un sujet en relation avec l'Astrophysique, la Géophysique ou l'Océanographie. Durant leur doctorat, ils ont l'occasion de s'intégrer dans des équipes de recherche internationales, de présenter leurs résultats tant au grand public (activités de vulgarisation) qu'à leurs pairs (participation aux conférences internationales), de partir sur le terrain recueillir des observations ou dans d'autres universités pour améliorer leurs compétences. Après leur thèse, ils pourront soit continuer leurs travaux dans les centres de recherche internationaux, soit intégrer des entreprises de pointe, où leur formation spécialisée est très demandée.

38 doctorants effectuent actuellement leur thèse dans le département. Selon le thème de recherche choisi, ils relèvent d'un des deux collèges de doctorat liés au département, le Collège de doctorat en Océanographie ou le Collège de doctorat en Sciences spatiales.

Les écoles doctorales offrent des cours et séminaires pouvant faire partie de la formation doctorale. Le département AGO est activement impliqué dans deux écoles doctorales thématiques. L'école doctorale PandA procure une formation en Physique et Astrophysique, tandis que l'école UNITER centre sa formation sur les sciences de l'Univers, de l'espace, de la Terre et du climat.

Pour connaître les possibilités correspondant à un thème déterminé, contactez les chercheurs concernés (voir unités de recherche).

Des informations pratiques sur le doctorat peuvent être trouvées sur le site de la Faculté des Sciences (en particulier, les formulaires d'inscription, de constitution du comité de thèse et de constitution du jury de doctorat).

Université de Liège > Faculté des Sciences > Département d'Astrophysique, Géophysique et Océanographie : CoWebAGO, Juin 2009.